Senior Section Curriculum

IGCSE (Grade 9-Grade10)

The International General Certificate of Secondary Education (IGCSE) offered by the University of Cambridge is widely recognized as the world’s most popular international qualification for 14 to 16 year olds. Some of the main features of this programme are:

  • Cambridge IGCSE provides a broad study programme within which there is a balanced mix of practical experience and theoretical knowledge. The Cambridge IGCSE is designed to be suitable for students with different levels of ability. It is the formal recognition of a learner’s achievement at the end of a particular subject course covered during grade 9 and 10.
  • At this stage, the pace of academic demand is accelerated and students are gradually prepared to forge ahead. Students gain a strong foundation and develop into holistic beings. During these years, the smooth transition from childhood to adolescence is facilitated by a comprehensive, value-added education. Academic challenge becomes the focus as the students start preparing for IGCSE exams.
  • Cambridge IGCSE syllabus has been designed to equip students with comprehensive and conceptual knowledge of the subjects. It develops skills in creative thinking, enquiry and problem solving. The syllabuses are international in outlook, but retain a local relevance. The curricula develops learner knowledge, understanding and skills in:
    • Subject content.
    • Applying knowledge and understanding to new as well as unfamiliar situations.
    • Intellectual enquiry.
    • Flexibility and responsiveness to change.
    • Working and communicating in English.
    • Influencing outcomes.
    • Cultural awareness.

All learners have an access to library, computers, laptops, tablets, projectors and the internet in the classroom. This enhances the teaching programme by providing opportunities for differentiated learning approaches that target the individual learning needs of each student.